2021 Hall of Fame

PCR-3 Inducts Three to Hall of Fame; Celebrates 13 Student-Athlete Signees
Posted on 02/05/2021

In combination with Platte County High School’s “Winter Athletic Signing Ceremony” on February 3, the Platte County School District inducted three members to its Pirate Hall of Fame: Dakota Fowler, Terry Hart, and Anna Nutt. Jan Patterson, retired PCR-3 teacher and coach, and class of 2016-17 Hall of Fame member, introduced each new inductee. “Tonight, we are recognizing three individuals who have made the world – and our Pirate Community – a better place,” she shared.

Dakota Fowler: Cheri Fowler accepted the Hall of Fame plaque on behalf of Dakota Fowler, who is currently serving in the U.S. Army as a Staff Sergeant with the 1st Battalion (Airborne) 509th Parachute Infantry Regiment. Dakota is a 2007 PCHS graduate and was a star wrestler,  part of the 2005-2007 State Championship wrestling teams, reaching a national ranking of #21 in the USA wrestling magazine, and was recruited and qualified for a Division 1 NCAA wrestling scholarship. After graduating with honors from the University of Central Missouri, Dakota trained in the KCMO Police Academy and U.S. Army, and is currently responsible for planning, executing and leading his squadron’s airborne operations and maneuvers.

Terry Hart: Mr. Hart served the Platte County School District from 1973-2008, first as a middle school science teacher and coach, then as Platte City Middle School’s principal, a role he held for 30 years. He is best remembered  for his mentorship and engagement with students and faculty alike, as well as his motto that lives by and taught to his students: “Be prepared, prompt, polite, and have pride.” In addition to serving PCR-3, Mr. Hart also served in the Kansas Army National Guard and retired as a Captain after 24 years. This service was influential to his former students who have chosen to join the military. After retirement, Mr. Hart, along with his wife, Jessie, continued serving the Pirates of Platte County by running the score clock and keeping the scorebook at Varsity basketball games for several years.

Anna Nutt: During her 31 years of teaching at Platte County School District, Ms. Nutt taught English Language Arts, Social Studies, and PE, as well as coaching a variety of sports. “Yes, I’ll be glad to help,” was a common phrase for Anna throughout her time as a Pirate. She coached Varsity basketball for 6 years from 1987-1993, helped to start the PCHS softball program in 1991 and coached softball for 3 years, assisted Jeff Humburg to start the middle school Trolley Run program in 2000,  in collaboration with Coach Zach Keith launched the PCHS tennis teams in 2008, and returned to assist Coach Stubbs with basketball and was  part of the 2009 Girls State Championship basketball team. Anna retired in 2018, but was called to serve again, this time being asked to coach freshman boys basketball with Coach Anderson.  She completed her PCR-3 coaching career as assistant girls tennis coach, this past fall. Beyond the field, court, or classroom, Coach Nutt has led several student enrichment trips as well as mission trips as a youth leader for the Platte City United Methodist Church. She is now leading online bible studies for Athletes in Action, a ministry serving college-aged student-athletes.

The Hall of Fame program was started by the PCHS Booster Club in 1999 as a way to recognize special volunteers, former teachers/employees, or anyone who has contributed significantly to the enhancement of the Platte County R-3 School District. Hall of Fame nominations are accepted year round, and the Hall of Fame inducts new members usually in January or February. Visit our Hall of Fame page, for a list of all members, as well as to access nomination forms.

2021 Winter Athletic SigneesGabe Middleton, PCR-3’s Activities Director also recognized 13 student-athletes who will be continuing their athletic careers following graduation from PCHS:

  • Alex McClure - Baseball - Northwest Missouri State University
  • Forrest Boynton - Football - St. Ambrose University
  • Trey Butcher - Football - Northwest Missouri State University
  • Cayden Davis - Football - St. Ambrose University
  • Colby Rollins - Football - Arkansas Tech
  • Chris Ruhnke - Football - Northwest Missouri State University
  • Keaton Smith - Football - Midland University
  • Collin Tyson - Football - Eastern Illinois University
  • Mannon Bigus - Golf - Rockhurst
  • Halle Magee - Softball - Park University
  • Shannon Banark - Swimming - University Of South Dakota
  • Abbie Schwieder - Track & Field - Northern Iowa
  • Sarina Bertram - Wrestling - William Jewell